Last of the 2″ wide strip scrap tops

These are the last of the scrap tops made using the 2″ wide strips.

Carolyn

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Last of the 2″ wide strip scrap tops”

  1. Carla Says:

    Carolyn, these are just stunning. You’ve got great color-sense! I wrote to Terri that I thought these might make really great “One Fell Swoop Quilts” and she mentioned that she’d suggest it would probably work best if the strip panels were done on a DSM and then pieced with the rest on the frame. When I get time I’m going to do some “noodling” and see if I can piece one of these on the frame — but I’ll wait until I get back to Illinois so I have a bigger playground, since my Indigo has a lot longer throat than my weekender. I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Regards,
    Carla

  2. quiltsbeyondborders Says:

    Thanks, Carla. I did have a lot of scraps to work with. Another very easy top that would probably work on a longarm is to cut strips the across width of the fabric which is approx 42″ (exact width we need for the quilts). Cut the strips in the same width or various widths and gradate the colors light to dark. Then just sew the strips together to make it the length needed (anywhere between 48″ to 60″ long). I’ll try to throw a top together sometime this week and post it. Heaven knows I have enough scraps.
    Carolyn

  3. Carla Says:

    Carolyn, check the url I posted in my Information for Longarmers. Terri Watson has some instructions for doing a quilt on the longarm very much like you mentioned above, and you might find some of her tips beneficial.

    I think it would be pretty to do a strip quilt like you mention. Can I suggest you put a border around it to “contain” it? Terri has some tips on doing the side borders. Let me know how it goes. I’m looking forward to doing something like that myself.

    Carla

    • quiltsbeyondborders Says:

      Ah, Carla, but a border around it defeats the purpose of using strips cut across the width of the fabric. The width of the fabric is exactly the width needed for the QBB quilts…scraps used up and no new scraps created. Carolyn

  4. Carla Says:

    Good point! OK, how about a wide contrasting binding, applied on the frame, also via Terri’s instructions referenced in my post?

    Carla

    • quiltsbeyondborders Says:

      Yup, Terri’s instructions cover the basic strippy quilt that I had in mind, just with borders. Looks like a good one for the longarmers who want to piece and quilt on their longarms. Carolyn

Leave a Reply

