Two More Quilts

Thank you, Barbara, for quilting these lovely tops.  You can’t see it it in the pictures, but Barbara did a fantastic job quilting these.  They are going to hold up for a long time under the harsher conditions they will be subjected to in the hands of children and under the basic hand scrubbing washing methods used at the orphanages.

Carolyn

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Two More Quilts”

  1. Jean Gillis Says:

    Hi! I am Jean Gillis, Buzz Gillis’ sister…3 years younger. Living in Ethiopia is not something that most people can imagine. I still have some very vivid memories and, yet, too many things that have faded from memory. Glad to find out that Buzz made contact with someone from the time period in which we were there. Good wishes to you and all the volunteers involved in your quilt project.

    Jean

  2. quiltsbeyondborders Says:

    Hi, Jean! How nice to hear from you. It was such a treat to talk to Buzz. Even though I didn’t know the two of you during the years we were there (I was just 6 in 1960, so I would have been too intimidated to hang out with the “big kids!”) it was such fun to find out that we knew people in common, and we seemed to remember a lot of the same incidents (the coup, the resultant hangings, and the crocodile incident, specifically!), although from different perspectives. I’m hoping I put Buzz in touch with some people who can help Buzz with his quest.

    Thanks for your good wishes to QBB. I’ve been involved with this organization for about 4 years. I love to quilt, and when I heard about this project it was the perfect collision — I could practice longarming (quilting with “power tools”, BIG machines, BIG frames) and provide something warm and comforting to an Ethiopian Orphan. It’s not often we get the chance in life to do something really fun and do good for others we care about at the same time. In Ethiopia, primarily because of the AIDS crisis, there are almost 5 million orphans, and these children own absolutely nothing. Even their school uniforms are shared with other children the same size. As a result, when they get a bright, cheerful, warm and cozy quilt and are allowed to put their own names on it, it becomes such a treasure for them.

    I hope you took the chance to take a look at the pictures that have been taken over the last few years of the “Quilt Drops.” The 2008 trip was one where the pictures really got to me, not just because of the presentation of the quilts to the really happy recipients, but also because I saw so little change from the 60’s when I was there. Very disorienting for me, as I felt the immediate comfort of “home”, with the only change being the model years of the cars, but I also felt disturbed that the country hasn’t had a lot more positive changes in 45 years. I’m looking forward to being there in December to see for myself.

    Thanks for reading our blog! Regards,
    Carla

Leave a Reply

