Another Way to Use Those Scrap Ends

I have a lot of scrap ends that are the width of the fabric.  I wanted to make a top that was a little more interesting than just sewing them all together and leaving it like that.  So, I came up with this idea to sew all the strips together into a square, approx 42″ square.  I made up two of the squares, then I quartered them both.  Two of the quarters will have the strips going vertical and the other two horizontal (which is why I made 2 squares).  Then, just sew all the horizontal ones together, the vertical ones together, add borders, and the top is done.  This works up really fast and uses up all those stray ends.  You could also piece the strips to make them 42″ wide which sounds really interesting and a great way to use up all those shorter pieces.  I’ll have to try that after I use up all the full width strips.

My next experiment is to use the strips and put them all on the diagonal.  A little bit of math will be involved on this one.

Carolyn

5 Responses to “Another Way to Use Those Scrap Ends”

  1. Mary Ellen Says:

    love the modern art look of them. I must try this. thanks.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Carolyn, I LOVE this! If I can ever get to the bottom of my pile of UFOs, I need to try this!

    Carla

Leave a Reply

