Two Sampler Quilts from Bonita, Quilted by Karen AND Two More Cute Quilts from Donna

Wow! This week my postman has been getting lots of exercise, getting out of his truck and bringing boxes to my door. I’ve received several quilts from several people, and I have a whole pile that I’ll be showing over the next couple of weeks, once I get the chance to bind them.

Today, I’d like to feature 4 lovely quilts. The first two are by Bonita from Texas and were quilted by Karen Berube from New Hampshire. We don’t get a lot of sampler quilts, so these are lots of fun to see.  Bonita (who is 96 years young!) did a lovely job of the pieced and appliqued blocks, and Karen quilted the first one using custom quilting for each block and a Circle Lord pattern called Swirls for the second one.

If you’re interested in seeing more of Karen’s quilting, she has an Etsy store called “lovedquilts” at

lovedquilts.etsy.com

I think she and Bonita did a lovely job of these two quilts, and there will be two very happy children receiving them this winter when I take them with me to Ethiopia.  Thank you, Ladies!

The next two quilts were sent to us by Donna Sciandra in Buffalo, NY. Donna has sent us several tops over the last couple of months, and she’s also very talented at free motion quilting.   The first quilt is a “Lasagna Quilt”, which is a new technique that I’m going to have to try with some strips! Search Youtube with the phrase “lasagna quilt” to see the technique. The second quilt is made using some really fun Laurel Burch jungle fabric. Every once in awhile I find a piece of fabric that’s just too amazing to cut up, and I absolutely love what Donna did with this one! Again, there will be two children who will love these quilts this winter!

Donna also included three tops in the box with these cute tops — one made with cat fabric, and two more lasagna quilts. These will be on their way to a long-armer very shortly. Thanks, Donna, for these and for all the other tops you’ve sent us!

Regards,
Carla

One Response to “Two Sampler Quilts from Bonita, Quilted by Karen AND Two More Cute Quilts from Donna”

  1. quiltsbeyondborders Says:

    Ooooops! I had to make a correction to this post, as I had moved Karen Berube’s residence to Maine, when she actually lives in New Hampshire. My apologies. I must have been in the State of Confusion when I wrote the earlier post……

Leave a Reply

