6 Pretty Quilts from Nancy

One of the many lovely benefits of coordinating long arming for QBB is that every once in a while I get to meet someone in my neck of the woods. As some of you know, I belong to several long arming Yahoo groups and I occasionally post that I have tops kitted up and ready for quilting. Over the last 4 years I’ve had respondents from Alaska to Florida, Maine to California, even from Canada. No one from Hawaii, yet, but perhaps that will happen and I can drop off the tops in person, and practice the hulas I’ve learned over the years!

Anyway, I digress. Last month I received a note from a lady named Nancy Sturgeon, who had seen our blog and was offering to quilt for us. That name looked very familiar to me, so I did a little searching and discovered that Nancy and I belonged to the same guild, the Northern Illinois Long Arm Guild! I met Nancy for lunch and dropped off 6 tops, and was delighted at the next guild meeting when Nancy showed the lovely completed quilts at the guild’s Show and Tell. Nancy talked about Quilts Beyond Borders and mentioned the wonderful synergy of doing good for a needy child at the same time as you get to practice new techniques and enhance your skills. Nancy’s talk encouraged two other guild members to sign up to quilt some tops for us, and Nancy picked up 6 more tops to do for us before the next guild meeting.

Nancy did a wonderful job of the quilts, using a different technique for each of them. Click on the thumbnails below so you can see a close-up.

Thanks for doing such a great job of these, Nancy! I know the children will love them! And thanks so much for introducing QBB to our guild!

Regards,
Carla

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

