Last of the Andover samples

Here are the tops made with the last of the Andover samples that I have.  There are still some samples out there being worked by other people though which I’m sure we will see pictures as they get the samples made into tops/quilts.  I had fun making these and they really were rather simple to make.  On the hexagon one, I didn’t do the y-seam piecing, instead I used the method where you sew the half  hexagons in rows and then sew the rows together.

This is also my last post.  I have enjoyed working with all of you these last couple of years, and QBB is a great cause.  I’ve been awed by the generosity of all of you.  And, I have been thrilled and humbled by the smiles of the children as they receive their quilts.  But now it is time for me to pursue other things that have been put on the back burner for the past 3 years.  I wish you all the best, and I will be checking in on the blog from time to time.  Thank you everybody for your wonderful support and generous sharing with the children.

Carolyn

4 Responses to “Last of the Andover samples”

  1. Carla Triemer Says:

    Carolyn, as always your quilts are beautiful. I’ll have to spend some time checking out that Hexagon one! As I’ve been kitting up some of the tops you sent me that you made, so I could send them off to other longarmers, I find myself saying, “Oh, I want to quilt THIS one!”, over and over because they’re all so beautifully pieced!

    We’ll miss your daily involvement in QBB more than you can possibly know. When you and I agreed to take management of QBB last year, I was willing to do it knowing that between us we could make it happen. Your suggestion that we add Karen to the Board was spot on. You’ve been instrumental at getting us to the point we are today — growing, expanding and making more children happy. Please know that our virtual door is always open, and you’ll always be welcome to rejoin us and get as involved as you want!

    In the meantime, I wish you great luck, love and happiness as you pursue your other interests.

    Great thanks,
    Carla

  2. Audrey Says:

    Carolyn I will miss your posts and working with you with quilts. Your work with QBB has brought a happy time for many children. Best wishes as you go on to your other interests. God Bless You. Audrey

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Carla, thanks for the kind words. Sorry I’m bugging out on you, but I know that you will continue to make QBB a great success and provide quilts to many more children. Wishing the best to you all.
    Carolyn

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Audrey, you have been such a great supporter of QBB all these years. It wasn’t an easy decision, and I will miss working with you and seeing your beautiful quilts in person. I will just have to get by with seeing all the quilts on the blog. You truly are an angel. Carolyn

Leave a Reply

