Lots and Lots of Squares

Lois Flint is a longarm quilter from Merrimack, NH. She operates “You Better Get it Quilted”, which is a great name for a longarm business!


I’ve included two detailed shots to feature Lois’ longarm work. I particularly like the flower detail on pink and green patchwork and the clover/heart shape on the multi-colored/blue patchwork quilt.

Quilt Line-Up
2 multi-colored patchwork squares quilt- tops pieced by Susan Mayhall
Pink and green patchwork squares- top pieced by J. Hubnick

Lois also applied the binding for each quilt using her sewing machine. All of the binding looked great, but Lois wondered if there were any tips or techniques to ensure the machine stitching stayed straight. She and I both like to hand finish our bindings, but those pretty stitches cannot last the wear and tear. I’ve seen a few different techniques that are all equally effective; however, I wondered if our readers had any advice of their own to provide. So, dear readers, I am asking you. How do you keep your stitches straight when machine binding your quilts? (If you have any advice please leave a comment below.)

Lois, thank you for quilting for Quilts Beyond Borders. These quilts will surely make children smile. -Jodi

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Lots and Lots of Squares”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I always sewed my binding on by hand until i started making quilts for QBB, I began using the number 5 foot on my Bernina and it looks great.

Leave a Reply

