Quilter’s Spotlight: Theola Breaux

What  a joy it has been getting to know Theola and seeing the beautiful work she does making tops. In the past year Theola  has made over 50 tops for me. My long armers are always excited to get one of her tops! Theola has been a wonderful support to me and a cherished friend. QBB is lucky to have someone who has a love for children and is a great supporter of our group. I am delighted she is this month’s Quilter’s Spotlight and you can get to know her.

Name:   Theola Breaux
Hometown & State:  Houston TX
Years Quilting:  8
Favorite Quilting Style:  Piecing
Quilt Guild or Group:  Blue Triangle Quilt Guild
Your Website or Blog: None

Why do you volunteer with Quilts Beyond Borders?

I volunteer with Quilts Beyond Borders because it gives me an opportunity to share my talents with others.  And, different from guild obligations, I only have to complete a part of the quilt

How did you learn about Quilts Beyond Borders?

A friend of mine asked me to help her complete some kits she had gotten. (Bit off more than she could chew).  And, from that experience I was hooked, could work on the kits when I just wanted to sew.

How did you learn to quilt?

I don’t consider myself a quilter, just a piecer.  Just used my sewing skills and some instructions from a friend and fellow quilter.

Where do you get quilting inspiration?

A lot of my inspiration comes from the other ladies at each of two guilds I’ve been associated with.

What’s your favorite quilting tip or technique?

I like to collect my pattern and cut the kit together in a work packet, and all the components to complete the project.

What else should we know about you?

I’m a 72 yr old female that vowed never to sew.  I’ve learned that deep down there was always a passion for sewing.  I think my life is sewn together because in most cases, I’d rather sew than eat.  Sewing is a great relaxing tool, but when you enjoy it, it’s amazing.  I’m the proudTheola mother of 7 kids, 18 grandchildren, and 10 great grand kids.  A brew for any group, but my husband and I of 51 years really enjoy our family.  Life is beautiful.  A 27 year survivor of breast cancer, recently diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, on the slow road to recovery.  Feeling better and getting stronger each day.  Thanks to Quilt Beyond Borders, I met one of the best friends of my life – Susan Schmidt, one of the coordinators, a great lady.

Susan Schmidt, North West Regional Coordinator

One Response to “Quilter’s Spotlight: Theola Breaux”

  1. game guardian updated version Says:

    Great blog you have here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours nowadays.

    I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

Leave a Reply

