Quilter Spotlights

Today, we feature several amazing contributors to Quilts Beyond Borders who recently created and donated the beautiful quilts pictured below. Read on to learn more about these interesting and talented ladies!

Marcia shared her quilting story: “I live in Indiana, where I retired from teaching at the law school.  I made my first quilt while I was myself in law school in 1976, using random fabrics inherited from my grandma who made draperies for an interior designer.  I didn’t know what I was doing, but that started me on my self-taught quilting.  I’ve never belonged to a guild, just learn by doing, YouTube videos, and advice from an online group I follow (Stashbusters). I mostly make scrappy quilts – my stash contains a lot of fabric from thrift stores and almost nothing purchased full price.” Thank you Marcia!

Joanne is from Michigan and shared her story with us too: “I recently moved to the beautiful Upper Peninsula of the state with my husband and am looking forward to spending our retirement here! I have a wonderful group of “quilting” friends in our little town. We meet weekly for creativity (many are also knitters), fellowship and a potluck. I have always enjoyed sewing, but found a love for quilting after my aunt introduced me to her quilts many years ago. I have been long-arm quilting since 2016 and am currently quilting for customers as well as Quilts Beyond Borders. I enjoy getting to see all of the beautiful and diverse quilts that come my way!” Thank you Joanne!!

These quilts made from kits were sent to us by the Mary Immaculate Mission Group in Coleraine, Minnesota. We are very appreciative of your contributions!

Leave a comment